The nominations for Pride Houston 2013 grand marshals are in!

Pride has announced the candidates in three categories for this year's parade, which will roll on June 29. 

Male grand marshal candidates:

  • JD Doyle, producer of Queer Music Heritage radio program 
  • John Nechman, immigration attorney who focuses on LGBT cases 

Female grand marshal candidates:

  • Robin Brown, corporate executive and fundraiser
  • Liz James, CEO of Lesbian Health Initiative
  • Gay Nell Gulihur, Gay Rodeo Association and fundraiser 

Ally grand marshal candidates:

  • Januari Leo, National Coalition for LGBT Health 
  • Anna Eastman, HISD School Board President

Learn more about the nominees here and vote for your favorites here.

Pride Houston's grand marshal selection process begins with community nominations. The public is asked to submit individuals who they feel have contributed most to the positive image and outlook of the Houston LGBT community. Those nominations are then reviewed by a committee comprised of former grand marshals and Pride representatives to ensure eligibility. The nominations that make it through that process are then voted on by the public at large.

The winning grand marshals will be announced at the Pride Kickoff Event on April 11. The 2013 Pride Celebration, which includes the festival and parade, is set for June 29.