Philanthropists and art patrons John and Dominique de Menil established the Menil Foundation in 1954 to foster greater public understanding and appreciation of art, architecture, culture, religion, and philosophy. In 1987, the Menil Collection’s main museum building opened to the public. Today, the Menil consists of a group of five art buildings and green spaces located within a residential neighborhood in central Houston. The Menil remains committed to its founders’ belief that art is essential to human experience and fosters direct personal encounters with works of art. The museum welcomes all visitors free of charge to its buildings and surrounding green spaces.
The 30-acre campus includes the Menil’s main building, the Menil Drawing Institute, the Cy Twombly Gallery, the Dan Flavin installation at Richmond Hall, the Fresco Building, and the Menil Collection Bookstore.